CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. -- % of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

CandleSurfer H4 Trend Strategy

Hello traders and investors. I am an experienced trader here on Darwinex, owner of Darwins UEI https://www.darwinex.com/darwin/UEI.4.22 and GRF https://www.darwinex.com/darwin/GRF.4.3.

For more info on these please see my diary here (please be aware that GRF is a laboratory of numerous strategies yet to be whittled down/ refined. I am running it so I can see how it performs as a Darwin relative to my normal trading account - I would not recommend buying this at the moment):

UPDATE: SINCE DECEMBER 2018 GRF IS TRADING THE TREND STRATEGY DISCUSSED/ SUMMARISED BELOW

I have been working on a new trend following strategy, based on price action on the H4 time frame. I have now coded this as an EA, which I am running on a demo account for a few months, until I get to around 100 trades or so.

The EA runs on GBP/JYP and EUR/USD as these are relatively uncorrelated and seem to trend quite well/ regularly.

At the moment I am testing three variations on a theme with EUR/USD. The three EUR/USD strategies have magic number 2,3&4 on the myfx book page here (GBP/JPY is magic number 1):

https://www.myfxbook.com/members/candlesurfer/candlesurferh4trend/2694412

My expectation (edge) is that the system will return around a 50/50 win rate but with larger winners than losers. The system aims to let winners run and cut losers early - very basic but very overlooked advice!

Any comments or questions are more than welcome and I will be launching this as a live Darwin once I am happy that it has been tested on demo for long enough.

9 Likes