CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. -- % of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

NTO - by naturalis

Hi all! My name is Jernej and I’m a manager of NTO. It’s been 7 months since I joined Darwinex and I am ready to show you the underlying strategy behind my darwin.

First a few words about myself. I am employed as a software engineer and only got into trading in late 2017. So I am relatively fresh in this field. First few months I was trading on a demo account, then in 2018 I began using real money. I started off with a small account of €1000, just to get the hang of it. First year, my main focus was survival. I wanted to learn as much as I could by not taking a too big of a hit to my account. In my second year I started using different tactics and approaches. I was very profitable, but that was more due to luck than skill I would say.

STRATEGY

NTO employs a discretionary type of trading. I would describe my trading style as relatively infrequent (0.43 trades/day), risk averse and conservative. NTO’s main goal is capital preservation. Darwin works best with breakouts (wedge, channel, H&S…). The worst performance is expected in consolidation period, like in current times (Covid-19). When this happens, after a few failed trades, I decrease the frequency and start lowering the risk from standard 1% of capital per trade to 0.5% or even 0.1% (in case of extended losing streak). I rarely enter a trade with a full position. I enter using half or quarter position size and then scale-in as/if the trade moves in desired direction. I trade longer time frames, monthly/weekly to identify zones of interest and daily/4hr to time my entry.

Analysis of pre-darwinex era